Coloured Smoke

I was browsing through my makeup inspiration folder and came accross this stunning photo by katosu. She is one of my favourite makeup artists, she uses colour in such a sophisticated, wearable way, and the blending is always immaculate. I decided to test myself and see if I can recreate that look.

IMG_6712

It’s a black based smokey eye with luminous colourful eyeshadows that remind me of peacock feathers. I don’t usually like smokey eyes on me (my eyes just drown in dark shades), but these worked so well because they didn’t overpower my face – the different colours helped make everything look more dimensional.

I started by applying a black cream all over the upper lid, then shaded the crease towards the browbone with a regular black eyeshadow. This served as a base the other colours would stick to and look darker than used on their own.

IMG_67233

I patted a generous amount of teal eyeshadow on the center of the lid; I actually used two shades to help with transitioning from the black in the outer corner. I followed with a purple in the inner corner and softened it with a pearly white. On the bottom lid, I placed a liquid gold colour to make it really stand out – more than a powdered formula would. I lined my waterline and top lash line with black to frame everything, and finished with a coat of black mascara.

IMG_6724

A heavy eye always looks more put together with some false lashes, so I decided to use the Ardell Demi Pixies as they offer great definition and a noteable curl.

IMG_67299

I intended to do just the eyes at first, but I loved them so much I had to see what they look like with a full face of makeup.

I used a mix of high coverage foundations to perfect the skin, blushed my cheeks with a pinkish purple, and applied a purple lipstick to go with the purple on the eyes.

IMG_6649

(Also, it’s not a wig! I dyed my hair again – not specifically for this post, obviously, but the pink had washed out so unevenly and I couldn’t be bothered with the upkeep. The dark brown is low maintenance which I need at the moment, and neutral enough to suit more colourful makeup.)

Products used:

Face
L’Oreal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation (10 Porcelain)
Laura Mercier Silke Creme Foundation (Soft Ivory)
ELF Mineral Booster (Yellow)
Catrice Glamazonia LE Defining Blush (C02 I Got The Flower!)

Eyebrows
Anastasia Bevery Hills DipBrow (Soft Brown)
Gray powder from a no name palette to set

Eyes
Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (15 Fair)
L’Oreal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner
Catrice Absolute Eye Colour (140 The Captain Of The Black Pearl)
Kiko Colour Sphere Dual Eyeshadow (107)
Catrice Feathered Fall LE (C01 Peacocktail)
Sweetscents Mineral Eyeshadow (Amethyst)
Sweetscents Mineral Eyeshadow (Pearl)
Bourjois Shimmering Shine Liquid Eyeshadow (31 Molecule D’Or)
Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara
Ardell False Lashes (Demi Pixies)

Lips
Golden Rose Velvet Matte Lipstick (28)

I think I did a pretty good job! My photography skills aren’t as perfect as my inspiration’s (I don’t have proper lighting to really emphasize the eyes), but overall I loved the results. Recreating other people’s makeup is how I started all those years ago, it was fun to bring that idea back again.

Thank you for reading! 😊

7 thoughts on “Coloured Smoke

  1. […] theme was black with gold accents, but I also borrowed the colourful lid combination from one of my previous posts because I wanted something fun to break up the graphic liner. The colours and shapes follow those […]

  2. Čudovito ❤ Mene tudi barve spominjajo na pavja peresa. Mislim, da so tvoje photography skills kar odlične, ker je zelo lepo fotografirano. Res odličen look in vijolične ustnice samo še zaokrožijo celoten izgled :).

    • Hvala ❤️ Zmeraj, ko vidim tiste popolno osvetljene fotografije mejkapa na Instagramu, postanem ful kritična do svojih. Pa ne da bi ble moje slabe, samo tiste so next level. Pa nekako mi nikoli ne uspe ujeti tistega efekta, ki ga vidim v živo. Ampak ok, saj bo vedno bolje, upam 😀

Leave a Reply

