Pink Party Dress

I went shopping in Austria last week, mainly to look for a new sofa in IKEA, but naturally I ended up in a shopping centre after that. I didn’t find the right sofa, but I did come back with a few great future holiday inspired beauty products. As I can’t wait for Christmas season (not even ashamed), I had to try out the sparkliest one from the haul right away – the Maybelline Color Show nail polish in “Pink Party Dress”.

IMG_5485 (2)

When I saw this on the shelf, I immediately knew I had to get it. Beside gold, copper tones are my favourite when it comes to colours. As the name suggests, it’s meant to be pink, but it’s a very gentle, rosy pink with a slight orange undertone, which is what copper is basically all about. But with more layers, it turns more pink.

IMG_5458 (1)

The polish is made of fine glitter that’s reasonably densely packed. As with any glitter, the first coat is sheer, but with two or three coats the coverage quickly improves. It could be used on its own, but I never use glitters that way. I think it’s best suited for layering as it looks more impressive against a creamy base of either a contrasting colour or one in the same shade range for a softer effect.

IMG_5478 (3)

What I love about copper the most is the industrial glam feel it gives when combined with black. I’ve always been fond of that combination, and luckily it’s very modern this year so it’s easier to get products. I thought it would be fun to translate this concept into a manicure.

IMG_5438

I used the Essence Effect Nail Polish in 32 The Black Cat to create a black satin matte base, and then applied the Color Show on top. I mainly needed only one thick coat, and then added more only to places that needed it. I also recreated everything with a regular shiny black using Catrice’s 39 Black To The Routes, and I think it looked even better, but I didn’t take more photos as the difference wasn’t as noticeable there as it was in person.

IMG_5443

It can look more or less pink depending on the angle the light hits it. I really appreciate the two different glitter sizes, they give so much dimension.

IMG_5435

I did a slightly asymmetrical design so that the black wouldn’t get completely covered, and to further bring out the industrial feel.

I’m not sure if this polish is sold in Slovenia (I haven’t seen it, but I could have just missed it). I’m really glad I found it, though, because I can already see it becoming a staple during the upcoming colder months that need some sparkle to brighten up the dark days.

Thank you for reading! 😊

4 thoughts on “Pink Party Dress

Leave a Reply

