Poor Unfortunate Souls

With so many creative Halloween makeup looks on blogs and Instagram, I feel like I just have to contribute, even though the holiday isn’t officially celebrated here. There are, however, more and more Halloween inspired parties appearing every year. I’m not one for parties, but sometimes I wish I was, just so I could wear makeup somewhere other than around my apartment after taking photos on my own. 🙊

Today’s look was inspired by Ursula from The Little Mermaid. I wouldn’t say she was one of my favourite Disney characters, but  I definitely loved her theatrical personality and, from an artistic point of view, her purple and black colour scheme. I actually started out with a different vision for the makeup, but the postman rang and I had to quickly wash it all off to get the package (they never come when you’re lazing around doing absolutely nothing, do they). But I wasn’t too bothered by that, I didn’t entirely like what I had come up with anyway, so I would have started over regardless. I decided on a different approach where I kept the main colour palette, but didn’t follow the original Disney design, making it all more abstract to the point it doesn’t say “Ursula” right away. (A facebook friend commented I reminded her of Cruella.) It turned out very “drag”, which I guess makes sense since Ursula’s appearance was based on a drag performer … Either way, I’m happy with the outcome!

IMG_5277

IMG_5274

IMG_5256

The contouring is what I’m impressed by. I can’t believe how much it changed my face! I shade my cheekbones every day, but very subtly so the difference isn’t as apparent. I used a mix of purples for shading here, and I highlighted with a matte pure white as I’m quite pale. I’m thinking of implementing some of these techniques into my daily looks, they make my cheeks stand out and chunkier, and that’s what it’s all about, right? 😊

IMG_5157

I improvised with this gold ornament as I couldn’t find anything resembling a shell that was used to trap Ariel’s voice.

IMG_5233

IMG_5215

This makeup was quite elaborate and took me forever to do. I wanted everything to be really precise and well blended, so I made use of a liquid eyeliner with the thinnest brush and carefully traced the lines, softening them afterwards with eyeshadow. I also made sure it would photograph well, so I covered my face with heavy layers of foundation and powder. Surprisingly, it still looked relatively natural, but perfected.

Products used:

Face
L’Oreal Infallible 24H Matte Foundation (10 Porcelain)
ELF HD Powder (Yellow)
eBay Concealer Palette
Mix of loose mineral purple eyeshadows
Kiko Colour Sphere Duo Eyeshadow (107)
Sleek i-Divine Palette Ultra Mattes V1 (white)

Eyes
Bottega Verde Liquid Eyeliner (Black)
Sleek i-Divine Palette Ultra Mattes V2 (purple, black, and white)
Kiko Colour Sphere Duo Eyeshadow (107)
Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara
Born Pretty Store Eyelashes

Lips
Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet (08 Grand Cru)

Wig
eBay

Thank you for looking! 😊

4 thoughts on “Poor Unfortunate Souls

    • Hvala!!! Že odkar pomnim, se rada igram z ličili in preoblekami, da postanem vsakič druga oseba 😀 Uh, bi bilo super, če bi me kakšna fajn revija opazila, morda pa mi uspe kdaj 🙂

    • Evo, sem ti popravila komentar 😉 In hvala!!! A ne, kakšno moč ima mejkap, prav fascinantno! Še meni je nenavadno, ko se vidim tako drugačno 😀

Leave a Reply

