Ripe Plum

I’m surprised how much documenting my looks for this blog is helping with my creativity. Maybe it’s pure chance I happen to be feeling more motivated, but I’d like to think feeling slight “pressure” at the back of my mind about having to post something is the main reason.

I brushed over my love for duochrome eyeshadows in my last post, but the effect wasn’t as visible there as I’d only used a tiny amount. I wanted to do something stronger this time to properly capture the complexity of the colour shift – so I dusted on the powdered magic that is Lily Lolo Ripe Plum.

IMG_4017

JUST LOOK AT IT.

IMG_3806

It looks even sparklier and almost wet in real life. A true metallic foiled finish.

IMG_3817

It’s a brilliant blend of a coppery red base and teal microshimmer that can range from looking green to almost a purplish blue, depending on the angle light hits it from. Here I paired it with Meow Cosmetics Heavy Petting in the outer corner to deepen the look and emphasize the transitioning hues. The green on my bottom lid is a sample from Sweetscents, but I’m sadly not sure of the name as it’s rubbed off over the years; it brings out Ripe Plum’s green even more.

IMG_4009

The eyeshadow is rich enough to wear on its own as the shifting easily makes it look like you’re wearing multiple colours. It looks great both as a sheer wash or applied wet/over a black base to make more of a statement.

IMG_4011

Last photo is from under a different light, it shows the skin and lipstick colour more true to life. I went with an autumnal theme again (of course), and as I’m not used to wearing darker eyes without a dark lip, I mixed a couple of matte lip pencils that I felt went really well with the shimmering shadows.

IMG_3910

I’ve had a sample of Ripe Plum collecting dust for ages, but finally decided to buy a full size last month after swatching it one day. I think it might be discontinued, but you can still get it on some websites. There are also plenty of alternatives out there, however, not all have the same itensity and payoff.

Products used:

Face
L’Oreal Infallible Foundation (Vanilla)
Too Faced Flexible Coverage Concealer (Vanilla)
ELF Mineral Booster (Yellow)
Revlon Golden Affair LE Blush (Berry Daring)

Eyes
Lily Lolo Eye Colour (Ripe Plum)
Meow Cosmetics IdealEyes (Heavy Petting)
L’Oréal Infallible Gel Lacquer Liner 24H (Blackest Black)
IsaDora Build-Up Extra Volume Waterproof Mascara (Black)
NYX Eyebrow Gel (Brunette)

Lips
Catrice Ultimate Stay Lipliner (040 Love The Way You Plum)
S-he Stylezone Lipliner (001 Brown)

Thank you for reading!  😊

6 thoughts on “Ripe Plum

Leave a Reply

