Strawberry Tarte

I made a point of stepping out of my comfort zone with my eye looks recently, because I could easily wear the same two shades of brown day after day. Or rather month after month …

As today is the first day of Autumn, and the first brown leaves have already fallen from the trees, I decided to take some inspiration from the warm colours this season brings. I’m not talking about the browns, those have received enough love throughout the year as previously mentioned; I’m bringing out the reds and coppers. Those are colours I absolutely love on their own, but have always been intimidated by when it came down to using them on my eyes. Sure, theoretically they bring out blue and green eyes, but they can also make you look sick and tired very easily (especially if you happen to suffer from resting bitch face on occasion like me …). So I thought it was high time to put some effort into it and make them wearable!

IMG_3775

I found an old sample bag of copper pigment called Strawberry Tarte, and after a quick Google search I found out it was from Lily Lolo (I have SO MANY of these sample bags. I used to be obsessed with pigments several years ago and bought a ton and now can’t remember where they all came from). I’m not entirely sure if they still make this specific colour, but it’s like nothing else I own: a bright, orangey copper with a hiiint of pink. It has a brightening metallic finish like most loose eyeshadows.

IMG_3758

To make the colour blend with my colouring a bit better, I paired it with a rosy orange blush and a dark reddish purple lipstick. Both are matte as I wanted the eyes to be the only feature with a reflective finish.

IMG_3782

My camera sadly didn’t pick it up too well, but I blended a green-to-brown duochrome eyeshadow in the outer corner to break up the copper a bit and give the transition towards the black an interesting effect. Duochromes are totally my weakness, they give such great dimension.

IMG_3723

IMG_3703

IMG_3747

I kept the general eye shape pretty basic, and the amount of eyeshadow to what I prefer for a day to day basis. I might make a stronger look with similar colours soon if I feel inspired!

Products used:

Face
L’Oreal Infallible Foundation (Vanilla)
Too Faced Flexible Coverage Concealer (Vanilla)
ELF Mineral Booster (Yellow)
bellaoggi Blush (03)

Eyes
Lily Lolo Eye Colour (Strawberry Tarte)
Catrice Absolute Eye Colour (140 The Captain Of The Black Pearl)
Catrice Absolute Eye Colour (410 C’mon Chameleon!)
Bottega Verde Liquid Eyeliner (Black)
IsaDora Build-Up Extra Volume Waterproof Mascara (Black)
NYX Eyebrow Gel (Brunette)

Lips
Misslyn Color Kiss Shiny Lip Balm (36 Mysteriously)

Thank you for reading! 😊

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Tarte

Leave a Reply

