Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask

I’ve been on an asian cosmetics kick lately (THEY HAVE SO MANY NICE THINGS). As I also needed a new mask, and the asian market seems to be obsessed with those, I browsed through the virtual beauty aisles to find the perfect one. After reading many positive internet reviews, I decided on Innisfree, a brand I’m already familiar with.

Innisfree 1

Innisfree are a beauty brand that focus on adding as much natural ingredients into their products as they can. Based on the Jeju Island, they care for the environment by contributing to reduction of carbon emission, using clean ingredients, and donate to charity. Overall, a very green standpoint.

This clay mask is one of the most popular products in the asian beauty market. It promises a 6-in-1 care: contracts pores, controls sebum, exfoliates, deep cleanses, brightens skin tone, and offers a cooling effect. It’s made with the Jeju volcanic mineral clay, which acts as an AHA to chemically exfoliate the skin’s surface, allowing the product to effectively clean out pores.

There is also an Original version of this product available, called just the Volcanic Pore Clay Mask, which is meant more for dealing with excess sebum and less for other concerns regarding your pores. I’ve yet to try that one, but I’ll definitely provide a comparison when I do!

IMG_2711

The mask comes in a brown plastic jar with a copper lid, and contains 100 ml of product. I love the colours they chose for the packaging, it looks very “earthy” but elegant at the same time, it definitely seems more expensive than it is. The box where everything is housed in when you first buy it is made out of sturdy textured paper, and goes well with the natural theme.

The consistency is that of a very thick cream. It’s a pale gray in colour and quite concentrated but smooth, so it spreads accross the face easily. It should last a long time. The instructions say to keep it on for 10 minutes, then rinse with lukewarm water. It dries relatively quickly and makes my face a bit stiff, as clay masks tend to do, but it’s not uncomfortable and it doesn’t tug on the skin. Because it’s so thick it does take a bit longer to wash off, but not excessively so.

I use it about once or twice a week, though just as I’m writing this I feel like I should use it at least three! It’s gentle enough and my skin would probably benefit more.

IMG_2689

The effect this gives me is well rested skin with a matte appearance. It doesn’t look dried out, just velvety and nicely toned. I can say it controls oil quite well, but I’m extremely oily (and I mean extremely), so the effect doesn’t last as long as I had hoped it would. Combination and lightly oily skins would probably see a bigger improvement (as most other reviews claim). I’m curious if the Original would work better for my level of oiliness (it will most likely be my next purchase when I run out of this one). Nevertheless, I still love using this in the evenings when my skin feels extra greasy from wearing foundation all day, or in the morning before applying foundation if I want a particularly clean canvas for makeup. Even if the difference isn’t huge, I still like the feeling and the even appearance of the skin after use.

I paid around $14 for this mask, which is a decent price for the amount and quality.

I order all my asian cosmetics on eBay because I can usually avoid shipping that way. It takes a bit longer, but I don’t mind waiting (sometimes I love the surprise of a product arriving when I’ve forgotten about it …).

Thank you for reading! 😊

Leave a Reply

