IsaDora Build-Up Extra Volume Waterproof Mascara

I used to wear regular mascara on a daily basis ever since I started doing makeup. For some reason I avoided all waterproof versions, thinking they would be too harsh on my lashes and too stubborn to remove at the end of the day (I admit, I’m lazy and don’t like fussing with cotton pads). However, in the past couple of years my lashes turned out to be the stubborn ones – they never wanted to stay curled after I coated them with my regular mascaras like before. They would just drop right down and make all my efforts with the curler go to waste.

I happened to get a sample of the IsaDora waterproof mascara when I purchased their pressed powder – and I’ve been hooked ever since I first tried it.

IsaDora 1

The full size was a bit pricier than what I was used to paying, but luckily enough, a local drugstore had a 20% off all mascaras so I took the chance because I just loved how the sample made my lashes look. I still believe it’s worth the regular price of just under 18€ , and I think it also comes in a smaller size.

My natural lashes are a medium length. IsaDora definitely makes them appear longer and very well defined. (If I wear mascara, I want it to show, but not so much that my lashes are suffocating beneath countless layers.)

IMG_2553_label

I only ever wear mascara on my top lashes because I find it suits my eye shape better. The volume is not extreme like it says on the packaging, but for me it’s the perfect amount of thickness, length and separation. Depending on your technique, you can make your lashes look thinner by brushing straight up if you want a more natural look, or you can build up definition by brushing left to right like I do to achieve the effect on the picture. I’ve never experienced any clumping with either of those techniques, which is extremely important to me – lashes look smooth, just thickened up.

The formula is a bit on the wet side, but not so much so that it would make your lashes drop. In fact, it holds the curl all day for me.

IMG_2581_label

It dries to a uniform satin finish and feels dry to the touch. It also never crumbles, another important factor I look for in mascaras – nothing worse than black dots landing all over your face (or in your eyes). It stays put even if I accidentally rub it (but not too hard).

I personally never “layer” mascara in the traditional sense, meaning I don’t let one layer dry and then apply another; instead, I try to perfect the look the first time by going over the lashes many times until they are fully saturated with product. If I want additional length, I just lightly pat the wand on the tips to make them show up more. I’m saying this because I know many people do apply it in coats, but I think this mascara doesn’t layer particularly well (I tried it once). Once it sets, you can’t move the lashes around too much anymore, and adding more product doesn’t “blend in” nicely.

IMG_2587_label

The waterproof claim does hold up; I never wore it in extremely wet conditions, but the few times I did get a splash of water in my face, it stayed put (like forgetting to remove it before washing my face …). You definitely need a good waterproof remover for it.

The only “problem” I have with this mascara is the size of the wand. I prefer tiny wands, because after I curl my eyelashes they’re at such an angle that it’s not easy to use bigger ones. This is why I always manage to brush my eyelids. I wouldn’t have that much of an issue with a regular formula, but since this is waterproof and sticks to the skin more, it’s difficult to correct any mistakes if I’m not careful. If you don’t curl your lashes as much as I do, you might not have any issues.

The wand itself is made out of regular bristles, and it’s pretty dense so it loads quite a bit of product, but not too much to use so I’ve never had to brush of any excess.

20150717_163910_small_label

Thank you for reading! 😊

3 thoughts on “IsaDora Build-Up Extra Volume Waterproof Mascara

Leave a Reply

